President Ferdinand R. Marcos Jr. recently appointed Zamboanga City Mayor, Honorable John M. Dalipe and Private Sector Representative (PSR) Msgr. Enrico V. Montano, as the Chairperson and Co-Chairperson of the Zamboanga Peninsula Regional Development Council (RDC), respectively, for the term 2022-2025.

Mayor Dalipe, in his first term as local chief executive of the city local government unit of Zamboanga is the youngest to serve as chairperson of the Council.

Msgr. Montano, served as PSR of the RDC IX for more than 30 years. He was selected as the Council’s co-chairperson during the term 2010-2013 with former mayor Evelyn T. Uy of Dipolog City as chairperson. Msgr. Montano has been heading the Development Administration Committee IX for the past two terms. He is the executive director of Zamboanga del Norte Center for Social Concern and Development or CESCOD. Mayor Dalipe and PSR Msgr. Montano will jointly steer the direction of all economic and social development efforts of the region in the next three years. Pursuant to Executive Order no. 325, series of 1996, the RDCs are being reorganized every three years coinciding with the term of the local chief executives. (Ric Luke B. Garcia, NEDA IX)