Zamboanga City Mayor John M. Dalipe was sworn in as Chairperson of the Regional Development Council (RDC) IX while Private Sector Representative (PSR) Msgr. Enrico V. Montano for Dipolog City as Co-Chairperson, for the term 2022-2025. The oathtaking took place on 14 December 2022 during the RDC IX 179th regular meeting.

In his opening remarks, Chair Dalipe committed to pursue progress and development in Zamboanga Peninsula through good governance marked by transparency, accountability, and sincere service. “This is the commitment that I bring to the Council, a platform of good governance and a dedication to the national agenda for development. I look forward to working with all of you,” said Chair Dalipe.

The oath taking was administered by Executive Judge Peter V. Eisma at Grand Astoria Hotel, Zamboanga City. Mr. Ben Nasser B. Isnain also took his oath as PSR for the Indigenous Peoples Sector while Regional Director Jeff Y. Fuentes of the Commission on Population and Development IX, Mr. Carlos J. Cerezo of Mindanao Development Authority, Assistant Secretary and Concurrent RD Maria Teresa M. Camba of Department of Information and Communications Technology IX and Basilan Sulu and Tawi-Tawi took their oaths as Special Non-Voting Members of RDC IX.

The Non-RDC Regional Project Monitoring Committee IX PSR Mark Anthony Sumandig was also sworn in during the Full Council meeting. Another highlight of the meeting was the approval of the Zamboanga Peninsula Regional Development Plan 2023-2028. The Council agreed to continue pursuing ZamPen’s vision as “The Center of Sustainable Agri-Fishery Industries of the Philippines”. (Zeanneville B. Tindoc / Zamboanga City, 14 December 2022).